[Info] List of compatible target platforms

Dec 9, 2009 at 3:18 PM

Sorry but if I understood, "Windows Ribbon for WinForms" is only compatible from Windows Vista SP2...

I would like to be able to use such a project for Windows XP: don't the "Windows Ribbon for WinForms" can ?

If yes, what are prerequisites, if no do you know another way to be able to ?

Thank's in advance.

Greg

PS : sorry for my english... i'm french

Dec 10, 2009 at 12:22 PM

The Requirement is the Windows Ribbon COM object. This was first developed in WIndows 7. But Microsoft made it available fpr Vista Sp2 Users as part of the Platform Update Series which also backports DX11/Direct2D, BITS4, PowerShell 2.0 and other fetaures back to Vista. XP is outdated. Upgrade to Vista/7 to get the requirements to use the Ribbons.

Dec 10, 2009 at 2:06 PM

Beyond the (Microsoft) commercial speech that urges you to say that Windows XP is outdated, as a computer consultant I can assure you that all companies have not yet migrated to Windows Vista/7... ;-)

So my question was meaningless.

Thank you for your answer which satisfies me, however.

Best regards

Grégoire

Jan 28, 2010 at 8:17 PM

How wrong you are!!

Please see posting http://windowsribbon.codeplex.com/Thread/View.aspx?ThreadId=78744

I am having same problem and I can't build anything on my XP with SP3 which is a supported platform according to Microsoft Win 7 SDK.

Anybody can help?

Coordinator
Jan 29, 2010 at 10:25 AM

Windows 7 Ribbon is only supported on:

• Windows 7
  • Windows Vista with Service Pack 2 (SP2) and Platform Update for Windows Vista
  • Windows Server 2008 R2
  • Windows Server 2008 with SP2 and Platform Update for Windows Server 2008

Specifically, Windows XP is not supported.

Jan 29, 2010 at 12:19 PM

So why do the Windows SDK 7 release notes say that Windows XP SP3 is supported?

Arik, PLEASE check the Windows SDK 7 release notes....

Coordinator
Jan 29, 2010 at 6:27 PM